SHIPSTON retained the Mick Sharpe Memorial Trophy with a 96-run success against Ashorne and Moreton Morrell.

The previous day had seen Ashorne defeat Shipston seconds in the league by a comfortable seven-wicket margin.

However, some revenge was gained as Shipston, skippered by Jack Murphy, inflicted a similar margin of defeat to retain the trophy, played for annually between the sides in memory of one of the area’s most popular cricketers.

Mick Sharpe played for his home village club of Ashorne and Moreton Morrell before joining Shipston to play league cricket, playing 20 seasons for both clubs.

As remarked by Shipston president John Bradley prior to presenting the trophy, Sharpe would have been delighted at the spirit in which the game was played.

A 77-run opening stand between Roger Wickson (34) and George Williams (22) set Shipston on their way and Alex Welsby notched a useful 17 before Murphy (45) dominated the middle of the innings.

Wickets fell cheaply towards the end of the innings with B Purser claiming 3-17 thanks to some good catches. Jack Jones returned to take 2-20, while T Lewis, J Lambdon and M Sykes all took a wicket each.

In reply, the visitors got off to the worst possible start, from which they never recovered, with key batsman Jones bowled first ball by Michael Brown. In total contrast, Jones scored 112 in the fixture last year.

Deflated, Ashorne wickets fell regularly with only Lewis (23) and last man Lambdon (15 not out) reaching double figures.

Ashorne were bowled out in the 23rd over for just 74.

Dave Phillips with 3-7 returned the best figures with Brown (2-12), Nick Taylor (2-14), G Williams (1-14), A Welsby and M Corby chipping in.

Shipston seconds crashed to a seven-wicket defeat against Ashorne after being skittled for just 80. Ashorne needed just 16 overs to seal victory.