OVER 600 runners took to the streets of Bourton-on-the-Water for the annual 10K race at the weekend.

Ed Banks of Birchfield Harriers entertained the masses in attendance, leading the field of 640 runners home in a time of 31 minutes and 32 seconds.

No stranger to Bourton, the 2020 race winner led from the start, despite strong challenges from Andy Lawrence (31:41 - Stratford Upon Avon) and 2023 winner Richard De Camps (31:53 - Gloucester Athletics Club).

An equally impressive performance was provided by Gemma Kersey of Basildon AC, the winning woman, delivering a time of 34:28. Becki Timmings held-off a strong challenge from Ella Burfitt to claim second place by two seconds.

Bourton Roadrunners had members taking part, with Danny Hannig claiming the bragging rights with a fine time of 35:43.

He was followed by an in-form Peter Carrick (38:00) and Darren Long (38:15). Eva Shoemark was Bourton’s first woman (40:32), managing to stay ahead of mum Niamh (41:56).

Other Bourton runners' times included: Kevin Goodwill (42:50), Claire Cox (44:40), Maxine Emes (45:49), Alfie Blanco (47:03), Jonathon Cook (49:49), Barry O’Leary (49:57), Basia Legierska (51:31), Noelle Morgan (55:37) and Claire Carroll (59:55).

On the same day, Bourton’s Melissa Samuel joined over 17,000 runners at the London Winter 10K.

For Melissa, who joined the club recently through its CouchTo5k programme, this was her first race and she completed it in a time of 1 hour, 29 minutes and 43 seconds.

Here are some of the results from Bourton members at various Parkruns up and down the country:

Chasewater: Susan Hunt - 27:16

Cheltenham Pittville Park: Chris Dry - 28:28.

Harkerville, South Africa: Gillian James - 34:01

Lydiard: Linda Edwards – 30:16.

Newport, South Wales: Jaq Underwood - 24:55

Oxford: Edward Hare - 19:00

Tetbury Goods Shed: Kate Price - 32:39.

University Parks: Sharon Rees - 35:38, Lorna Shawcross - 35:39