OLIVER Farrell was crowned Evesham club champion for a record 10th time.

Farrell, returning from four years on a scholarship in the USA, carded gross rounds of 72 and 67 for a total of 139 to claim the honours.

He had recently won the prestigious Berkshire Trophy and left the rest of the 58-strong field vying for the nett award of the Frank Swann Trophy.

Nick Webb took the honours with scores of 71 and 69 off an eight handicap.

Steve Protherough scored 75 gross 5 handicap 70 nett, John Stanley 82-14=68, Mike Abraham 86-16=70 and Keith Gater 83-13=70 in the first round.

The field was reduced to 36 for the second round and last year’s nett champion Ashley Curnock returned 78-11=67 with Webb on 77-8=69.

Joan Hunt was crowned Evesham ladies' club champion after 36 holes played over two days.

She won the gross competition to claim the title ahead of runner-up Ruth Masters.

The nett winner was Lesley Curnock followed by Sally Deakin.

A club medal went to Val Lemon with 70 nett in front of Melanie Evans on 75 and Sandra Piovesana on 77.

There is a new men's club champion at The Vale for the sixth year in a row.

Adrian Smith (4 handicap) was six back on the leading players after the first round, shooting 81 gross.

On the second day faced with chasing down previous club champions including Craig Moss, Jeremy Mills and Jordan Fox, Smith posted 76 to lead with a total of 157.

Moss came in with 159 to take the runners-up spot and Fox was third with 161.

The hotly-contested Nett Salver competition saw another first-time winner head the field on both days as consistent Colin Salcombe won with 146.

The Vale's Terri Hawes has stunned members with two holes-in-one this year.

Playing in a four-ball better-ball Hawes aced the third hole on the International Course.

Earlier this year she achieved another playing at The Villages in Florida, USA.

Brian Brumhead won The Vale's Eric Salter Cup after a gross score of 88.

Fifty players competed in the medal off white tees with Ian Phillips nearest the pin on the fifth hole.

Captain Peter Morris held his captain’s away day at Stinchcombe Hill where 40:players contested the Harry Adams Cup. 

Brian Bunn won with 36 stableford points.

Mike Hird was second on countback while Chris Filus, Martin Rees and Dave Seager respectively took the next three spaces. 

Bryn Keast won Division Two with 35 and Chris Hague came second followed by Morris, Mike Pickrell and Keith Round all on 34.

The longest drives went to Mick Heard and for the veterans Rob Sharp while £85 was raised for the captains’s charities with a putting competition won by Round.