PERSHORE are building a winning run as they look to mount a Worcestershire Cricket League Premier Division title challenge.

They beat relegation-threatened hosts Evesham by 74 runs in the Vale derby.

Chris Miles (53) led Pershore to 233-6 from 50 overs with Arshad Mahmood adding 43, Liam Ridings 39, Chris Ridings 34 and Stephen Miles 27 not out.

Muhammad Saqib took 3-47 before Evesham were bowled out for 159 despite Mahamad Nazrul Kadir’s 43.

Anees Tariq (3-19) was among the wickets while Chris Miles claimed two run outs.

Old Elizabethans lost by three wickets at second-placed Chaddesley Corbett.

Having elected to bat first, OEs recovered from 42-4 to 210-8 off 50 overs thanks to Mike Cooper’s 78 off 82 balls in his 100th game for the club.

Jamie Boyle added 44 in a 62-run partnership with Cooper and Amar Jawanda 25no.

Chaddesley managed a winning reply of 211-7 from 45.3 overs thanks to Waqas Ahmed (45), Tahseel Ahmadzai (36) and Bilal Hassan (35).

Fifth-placed OEs’ spinners put the pressure on to reduce Chaddesley to 160-5 but the lower order dragged the villagers over the line.

Jawanda was the pick of the bowlers with 2-22 while Archie Oxley conceded just 31 off his 10 overs.

The 22 wides shipped by OEs proved costly as they slipped 36 points behind leaders Stourbridge.

Stourbridge, who won the league’s Knockout Cup in midweek, beat Stourport by seven wickets.

Astwood Bank went fourth as Tom Underhill (87) and Pete Alexander (68no) led them to a six-wicket victory against Worcester who dropped to fourth from bottom.

Worcester scored 244-9 through openers Henry Lewis (57) and Aditya Dhadwal (67) along with Clark Knapton (33).

Bank got home in 43.4 overs with 245-4 despite Knapton’s 3-56.


Worcester 244-9 4 A Dhadwal 67, H Lewis 57, Astwood Bank 245-4 20 T Underhill 87, P Alexander 68*. Astwood Bank won by 6 wickets.

Old Elizabethans 210-8 6 M Cooper 78, Chaddesley Corbett 211-7 20. Chaddesley Corbett won by 3 wickets.

Pershore 233-6 20 C Miles 53, Evesham 159 a/o 4. Pershore won by 74 runs.

Feckenham 139 a/o 3, Bewdley 140-6 20. Bewdley won by 4 wickets.

Old Hill 227-9 4 Z Kafiat 94, Redditch Entaco 230-4 20 O Mason 77. Redditch Entaco won by 6 wickets.

Stourport 133 a/o 2, Stourbridge 134-3 20. Stourbridge won by 7 wickets.