PERSHORE women have clinched the 2015 Midlands touch rugby crown after winning all their matches in the final Super Sunday tournament at Droitwich.

Having already sealed the SW regional touch title, Pershore made it a memorable double by triumphing in the third-and-final 16-team Midlands competition.

Pershore won all five of their matches at Droitwich, including an impressive victory against Stratford, the 2015 NE regional ladies touch champions.

Emmie Bewley topped the charts for Pershore, running in six tries, with Verity Farr bagging four tries and also carrying off the team’s player-of-the-tournament accolade.

Teresa Crowley finished with three tries and Sue Breay notched two, while Fizz Bewley, Emma Field and Kiele Doyle also crossed for Pershore.

Fizz Bewley, chairman of Pershore’s touch section, said: “This win has come on the back of more than three years training and commitment by all of our players and our fabulous coach, Alice Keylock.

"The vast majority of our team came to Pershore with no rugby experience, so we are all testament to Alice’s skill and the way she makes every training session fun.

“We have also had tremendous support and encouragement from other women and men in our section too, who provide really tough opposition at training; Pershore men’s first team captain, Ash White, provides support coaching and he and John Staveley have trained as Level one England Touch Association referees as well, which is invaluable.”

Touch rugby training takes place at Pershore Rugby Club every Wednesday at 7.30pm and Sunday at 10.30am.

Girls aged 13 years and over, can come along and have a go – the first three sessions are free.

For details, call Fizz Bewley on 01905 381080.


Final placings in Midlands touch rugby championships:

1 Pershore (48 points).

2 Stratford (44 points).

3 Camp Hill (39 points).

4 Redditch (35 points).

5 Ross (33 points).

6 Wellesbourne (32 points).

7 Berkeswell and Balsall (24 points).

=8 Bredon (22 points).

=8 Newbold eighth (22 points).

10 Old Laurentians (19 points).

11 Greyhound (18 points).

12 Cannock (15 points).

13 Bromyard (14 points).

14 Rugby SA (13 points).

15 Luctonians (10 points).

16 Berry Hill (6 points).