OLLIE Morgan broke the Worcester St John's junior 10-mile time trial club record at the Royal Sutton CC open.

The event was run on a course near Rugby and the previous record of 22 minutes 34 seconds was set in 1981 by Cayn Theakston.

Seventeen-year-old Pershore High School sixth former Morgan, who is also supported by Echelon Cycles of Pershore, clocked 21.55.

Meanwhile, eight Worcester St John’s riders competed in a 120-strong field in the Janet Kelly memorial open time trial organised by Beacon Roads CC.

A smooth new road surface on the A46 more than compensated for minor wind issues in certain parts of the Salford Priors course.

Simon Garrett was the fastest St John’s cyclist with 20.37 while Martin Lines did 21.37, new club member Mark Cooper 22.46 and Mark Hand 22.47.

Dave Walker had his best effort so far this season with 22.43 and Nicholas John Bradburn clocked 23.15.

Adrian Murray rode 24.35 just two seconds off a personal best, Marcus Hibbert did 23.34 and Simon Adcook achieved a 49-second PB of 22.03.  Fifteen riders from St John’s did a time trial run by Redditch Road and Path on the Salford Priors course.

The weather was dry but windy for the 110 entrants.

The first section was fast but cyclists tackled strong winds on the road through Salford Priors.

Many suffered below-par times but the dual track resurfacing was a big plus.

Garrett clocked 22.15, Paul Guest 22.53, Lines 22.58, Steven Clarke 23.16, Adcook 23.42, Bradburn 24.18, James Davidson 24.20, Walker 24.21, Cooper 24.45, Hand 25.09, Marcus Hibbert 25.21, Callum Hibbert 25.30, Jason Tait 25.51, Robert Kristoffer Harrison 26.17, Murray 26.54 and Tim Ashton 21.16.

Twenty St John’s riders tested a new sporting course from Hallow through Great Witley and Martley to finish in Lower Broadheath on their weekly time trial.

Phil Whiteley set the first 17-mile hilly course record of 42.40.

Riding the same road bike he won on at Mallory Park Whiteley was 11 seconds faster than Lines on a time trial bike.

Guest rider George Pickering of Cyclesport Int RT was third in 44.0 and Ian Archibald, father of 2016 Olympic team pursuit champion Katie, managed 44.50 with both on unfamiliar roads.

St John's cyclist Jason Milner finished fourth in 44.19 with Hand doing 45.21, Walker 45.46, Garrett 46.37, Guest 46.59, Stuart Parker 47.07 and Adcook 47.27.

Andrea Turner and Aimee Lane continued their success in the women's and under 16s competitions in 47.45 and 48.32 respectively.

Dan Grant achieved a creditable 18mph on his first hilly time trial in 56.57.

New 20-mile course records were set at the St John’s time trial on a circuit through Severn Stoke and Kinnersley followed by a straight run on the A38 down to the M50 and back.

An on-form Mark Corbett enjoyed the May sunshine to set the record with 44.15.

His rare appearance in a club time trial decimated the field apart from Garrett who was 24 seconds slower in second.

Whiteley cruised in with the fastest road bike time of 47.42 and once again Davidson was fastest junior in 50.20.

Turner was the quickest woman, beating under 16s competitor Lane by a minute-and-a-half over the longer distance.

Martin Lloyd finished in a creditable 56.17 after cycling from work in Evesham to make the start.

Worcester St John's Gerry Hughes memorial road race will be contested on Sunday from the headquarters at Little Witley Village Hall.

The race will be run on the Hillside course.