EXTRA-TIME in cup competitions will be scrapped in the Birdseye Sports Evesham Sunday League next season.

From the start of the 2014-15 campaign, matches will go straight to penalties if level after 90 minutes.

The decision was taken at the league’s 44th annual general meeting at Evesham United’s Spiers and Hartwell Jubilee Stadium on Monday night.

There will be four divisions next season, despite the withdrawal of four of last term’s teams to leave 38 sides in the competition.

Elmley Castle, Evesham United Harriers, Honeybourne Gate Inn and Vale Wanderers have all resigned, but Charlton Old Boys have been elected into Division Four.

League secretary Martin Malin blamed a campaign once again affected by wet weather and the lack of commitment among players.

He said this made it difficult for teams to field the same side from one week to the next.

However, despite this, Malin reported that the season had proved competitive with all four divisions not decided until the final weeks of the season.

Birdseye Sports have also signed a new two-year sponsorship deal with the league to continue their long-standing relationship.

Meanwhile, Malin received a long-service award at the league’s annual meeting on becoming the first referee to complete 30 years service with the league.

Referees Dave Donnison, Paul Sparrow, Wayne Cowell and Mervyn Collins also received long-service awards, while John Hyde was recognised for 20 years service as club secretary of Pebworth FC.

Other awards, Jack Honeybone Trophy: Stour Excelsior; Club secretary of the year: Kathy Durrant (Evesham WMC); Club linesman of the year: Sam Hunt (Stour Excelsior); Referee merit award: Dave Donnison; Neil Emms Trophy: Mark Bellamy (Pinvin United).

League constitution for 2014-15, Division One: Bear, Bretforton Old Boys, Broadway United, WMK, Eckington, Evesham WMC, Fladbury Athletic, Pershore High Old Boys, Pinvin United and Stour Excelsior.

Division Two: AC Olympia, Alderton, Bredon, Fairfield, Defford/Besford United, Offenahm Rovers, Mickleton Rangers, Tesco United, Tewkesbury Town and Alcester Town.

Division Three: Ambassador, Anchor Harriers, Badsey Recreation, Broadway United Reserves, Stratford United, Ecosamba, Inkberrow, Cidermill and Sun Inn.

Division Four: Ambi Allsports, Bengeworth, Fortis, Harvington, Pebworth, Dragons, Stour Excelsior Reserves, Tewkesbury Town Reserves and Charlton Old Boys.